Parc de Bruxelles
The Parc Royal de Bruxelles (Royal Park of Brussels) was created in the late 18th century in line with Place Royale, on the former Warande or Garenne, a huge green space laid out on Coudenberg.
Parc de Bruxelles was designed by Frenchman Barnabé Guimard, assisted by the Austrian Joachim Zinner for the laying-out of the Park in 1774, around three main axes in a French classical style in the Brussels of the Enlightenment.
The whole thing is made up of forest-style copses, espalier-trained lime trees marking the perimeter of the park and a network of huge walkways which provide long perspectives lined with plane trees or chestnut trees. A remarkable set of statues originating from the old maze of the ducal park, Tervuren castle or the Thurn and Taxis building ornament Brussels Park.
The park also prides itself on an elegant pavilion built in 1841 by the architect J-P Cluysenaar as well as on a Waux-Hall, after the Vaux Hall Gardens of England from the 17th century. This edifice, which makes up a unique set of buildings with the Cercle Royal Gaulois Artistique et Littéraire and the Park’s Royal Theatre, was designed by the architect François Malfait.
Assuming a U-shaped outline, it resembles a pavilion with its
campanulate roof, its fore-stage and its rustic decoration of a
diamond-patterned metal grille in Louis 16th style. The park is
also home to a statue by Jean-Michel Folon,
dedicated to missing children and officially unveiled by King
Albert and Queen Paola in 1997.